spacer spacer spacer spacer spacer spacer spacer

Connect With Us

Press Room

Ramstad-Kennedy Award Nominations


Nominate a Single State Agency Director for the 2014 Ramstad-Kennedy Award by May 9
May 6, 2014

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS: The 2014 Ramstad-Kennedy Annual Award for Outstanding Leadership by a Single State Authority, awarded by the Recovery Month Planning Partners, is looking for nominees for this year’s award. The completed application is DUE MAY 9.

Background: The Recovery Month Planning Partners have witnessed with appreciation as the Single State Agencies (SSA) have increased their critical role in supporting and promoting Recovery Month activities, materials and awareness in their states and within their agencies. The Planning Partners have also watched with appreciation the extraordinary and long-time efforts and passionate leadership of the Honorable Jim Ramstad (R-MN-ret) and the Honorable Patrick Kennedy (D-RI-ret) in the development, understanding and promotion of public policies to bring equity to care for people with addiction and mental illness.

In 2007 representatives of the Recovery Month Planning Partners met with the National Association of State Alcohol/Drug Abuse Directors (NASADAD) Board of Directors to thank them for their leadership within their home states. Additionally, the group discussed the need for greater collaboration to promote Recovery Month within states and in coordination with national activities. The Ramstad-Kennedy award was established to recognize a SSA Director who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in support of recovery and Recovery Month and to acknowledge Congressmen Ramstad and Kennedy for their commitment to recovery and recovery-oriented policies.

The first annual Ramstad-Kennedy Award was presented in 2008 to the Massachusetts SSA, Michael Botticelli, during a Recovery Month reception at the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) State Systems Development Program (SSDP) conference. In 2009, the award was presented to Karen Carpenter-Palumbo of New York; in 2010 to Carol Falkowski of Minnesota; in 2011 to Barbara Cimaglio, Vermont Deputy Commissioner for Alcohol and Drug Abuse Programs. Last year’s recipient was North Carolina’s Chief of Community Policy Management Section, Flo Stein.

2014 Award: The 2014 Ramstad-Kennedy Award will be presented during the National Association of State Alcohol and Drug Abuse Directors (NASADAD) awards luncheon in Omaha, Nebraska on June 4, 2014. 

Keywords: ramstad, kennedy, award, nominate, single, state, agency, director, recovery, substance, abuse, mental, health

External link. Please review our Disclaimer